This is my story of survival.  It tells of an encounter with a disease of death - lung cancer - and significant life after, a very precious and rare thing.  Who I am is unimportant; what I've experience is: eleven plus years of treatment and survival.  These words are set down for but one reason - to raise a call to arms to fund lung cancer research.  Enough have suffered.  It is time for change.

I am not a doctor; indeed I possess little medical knowledge.  I am, however, a very experienced and long-tenured lung cancer patient.  That gives me a unique prospective on the disease that kills more, many times more, than any other type of cancer.  I'll avoid statistics.  They are readily available form any number of reputable resources.  But, I have a firm belief that lung cancer research is poorly funded because it is considered a self-induced disease. 

I believe my cancer was caused directly by cigarette smoke.  I recall a time when many of my peers smoked but they stopped well before middle age.  I couldn't.  I am addicted to nicotine.  Every time I'd try cessation, the addiction would draw me back.  Of course, people make a choice to take up smoking but that choice is made primarily when we are young and influenced by peer behavior.  Young people do dangerous things.  Consult the ubiquitous YouTube "fail videos" for validation.