Thought I had Pneumonia/SCLC

Jody

I had been being treated for pneumonia for 2 months, but my sodium and potassium levels were dropping and the dr.'s did not know why. I did have pneumonia but was diagnosed with sclc. Chemo was started in hospital, went back in hospital for port to be put in, plateletts were low then, went to Cancer Center for Chemo, will be checked today and I am supposed to have one more chemo, then in approx 3 weeks check blood, do last chemo with radiation. Dr. said then he would rescan. Said I am terminal, and have 30% chance. Have had bone scan, it is not in bones THank the Good Lord, but needless to say I am scared of what is to come.

Jody

Hi Jody and welcome, I agree with with Carol on getting a 2nd opinion and hope you are being treated at a cancer center. Any more there are alot of small town hospitals who think they can treat cancer and in my opinion they are not qualified. I wish you the very best and please post any questions you may have.

It all happened so quick. one afternoon I was diagnosed...2 hours later the cancer dr. was there 6:00 am chemo wa started...I do not even remembr signing any papers. Yes I am going to the Cancer Center here in Huntsville, Alabama..These people are great...I think my diagnosis was pretty right on..full left lung and glands...but my treatments have worked better that my doctor has eve seen...says he cannot believe it..for someone who was almost on a ventilator and now breathes onher on at 98 every morning...I have the little machine to check at home....I am trying to stay positive even though the doctor said..you are terminal and will never be cured..you have a 30% chance to live. Part of me wants to die and just get it over with..the oher part of me is just scared to "Death". Thank you both for your posts. It means so much to me.