Lung cancer

Mally

Hi ive just recently had a left lung lobectomy and a wedge resection and it was found during surveillance for a sarcoma i had 4 yrs ago but this is a primary adenocarcinoma .they said because it was small and on the edge of the lung that it was at a curable stage. I received a call about the histology report that 20 lymph nodes were removed and that there was some cancer cells in 7 of them and that they will decide whether to do chemo or take the watch and wait approach ....anyone else had similar ?

My nodes were all clear, so I have no experience. What did they say about how & when they will decide what to recommend to you? Was it a lobe or wedge that they took & if lobe, which one? How long ago? When is your next appointment? No matter what, you need to be part of the care decision. Make sure you are clear on what they are recommending & why.

Good luck & keep in touch!

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Mally,

I had a lobectomy of my upper left lung in February 2016 for a mass that was diagnosed as adenocarcinoma (no mutations).  Surgeons removed 10 lymph nodes and 7 had cancer cells.  I went through four rounds of chemo (cisplatin/alimta).  If you don't want to wait, or you don't like the treatment options provided by your team, get a second opinion.  

Hope this helps. 

Mally,

Seven nodes with metastatic lung cancer?  In my experience, wait and watch is not a treatment plan for cancer discovered by pathology examination.

Have you consulted with a medical oncologist or has your case been handled by only a surgeon?  Post surgical chemotherapy is normally a standard of care after most if not all surgical resections.  If you have a medical oncologist, I'd nudge him or her into formulating a treatment plan pronto.  If the nudge doesn't have the desired effect, I'd find another post haste.

Even one cancer cell in one node can be a vast problem.  Keep us informed and welcome here.

Stay the course.

Tom