Hi I'm a Newbie

Qnrlene

My name is Arlene.Dad has been diagnosed with stage 4 Lung Non small cell squamous carcinoma it's been about a month now. He started getting testing through the VA and was exposed to Agent Orange and has been a heavy smoker since he joined the military. Since his diagnosis I am overwhelmed with so many feelings dr gave him 6-12 months but also said every patient is different. When he was first diagnosed he said I feel fine I dont have symptoms. And keeps telling me I'm not going to die every morning I wake up with this reality. Lots of sleepiness nights uncontrollable crying, family drama, paranoia, anxiety and just terrified. 

I have joined this forum cause I have not been able to really talk to anyone about how I've been feeling everyone is telling me how to feel what I shouldn't how I should do it. I feel at a loss, empty helplessness, researching sites ensuring he has all the right things to eat and maybe being to harsh to help prolong or save my dads life... I may be saying all the wrong things doing all the wrong things I just need help!

Hi again Arlene,

I answered another post of yours too. A cancer diagnosis can cause chaos for the patient and family. It's normal to feel overwhelmed.  There are a lot of different ways people feel, both the patient and family. There's no right or wrong way to feel, for either you or your dad.  If you stay with these forums you'll read about people dealing with cancer in a lot of different ways. You'll also find that there is support here, and hope.  The main Lungevity Website has a lot of information. It's at Lungevity.org.  If you're intersted in being matched with another care giver for 1 to 1 support, you can look at:https://lungevity.org/for-patients-caregivers/support-services/peer-to-peer-mentoring/lungevity-lifeline

Let us know what questions you have and how we can support you. You're not alone.

Bridget O

Hi, Q,