Stage IV NSCLC Mom is 58

conway

We found out 3 weeks ago that my mom has cancer. We have gone through a lung biopsy, CT scan and PET scan. The CT scan shows that the mass to be 3-4cm and the PET scan shows that the cancer has spread to the adrenal gland and lymph nodes. The oncologist has scheduled a biopsy of the adrenal gland. If it is begnin then we will prodcede with chemo and radiation, if it is active cancer then chemo will be our only option. Do you think this biopsy is really necessary? My mom is still working her full time job in retail and is not complaining of any symptoms. The biopsy is a week away, are we wasting treatment time? Oh, and my mom is still smoking and I don't think she plans to quit. Anyone care to admit to still smoking while undergoing chemo?

Conway, See the post about smoking. I think it's in General.

I'm not a doctor, but as a patient I would certainly want to know what was going on in MY adrenal. Also, it is very important for the onclogist to get a correct staging so that the proper treatment can be given.

As far as time: What kind of cancer does she have; small cell or non-small cell? makes a difference. Small cell can advance rather rapidly; the others—slower. I doubt a week would make any difference in either case.

I think the most encouraging thing in your post is that your mom is feeling good. My doctors were all telling me that, basically I was toast, when I kept saying HEY! LISTEN TO ME!!! I FEEL GREAT! Don't let those doctors get you down!

Remember: The power of positive thinking can change your world! JudyB

Guest DaveG

Conway:

I am 59 years old and will be 60 in October. I am a Stage IV NSCLC and was Stage I until April 18 when I was restaged do to mets to my lymphatic system.