not sure what happened

jjoan

I am not sure if I should ask this but here goes anyways. My mom who was the greatest mother in the world and still is even if she is not here in body as I am still learning from her everyday through my memories of her. Well here goes, my mom was diagnosed with lc in Oct, 2003 and when she passed away we were not aware that anything was going to happen. She had never spent a night in the hospital (thank god) and she was weak but okay, I guess. The night she died was the first night I went home after about a week of staying at her place because she had the stereotactic radiosurgery 5 days before she died. My nephew stayed with her and when he woke up in the morning he found her in the bathroom and she obviously hemorrhaged. I am sick with grief thinking of how long she must have been there by herself and I didn't even know that there was a chance of that happening. Does anyone know of this happening before. We were told 3 weeks before that the tumor in the lung was small and it was stable. I have not visited with her oncologists since she passed away as I have been unable to go near the hospital where she received treatment but I would like to see them again and thank them for everything they did for her and us. They probably gave us more time with her then what we would have had if she didn't get treatment. It was been almost 6 months and it feels like yesterday and we are dreading the holidays but if anyone can let me know of this happening and what exactly happened I would appreciate it.

thank you.

Joan,

How tragic your Mom's death was. It is very unfortunate. Please accept my condolences. We have had several deaths on this board from bleeding. Did your mom have radiation along with the chemo? This could cause tissue damage and healing impossible. I am not a doctor, and there could be other reasons. I would suggest getting copies of notes from the procedure done. Good luck, and keep us posted.

Cheryl