Surgery Update

mscyn4u

Hi Everyone,

I am home briefly from the hospital and I wanted to touch base with the great folks here. I welcome all newcomers and hope the information I share can be helpful, even though I am new at all of this..

My husbands surgery took place Thursday afternoon, btw, his name is Robert, I call him Rob and my name is Cynthia.. He went in around 11:45 and the last call I got from them was at 1:30 that said the surgery started around 12:30 and everything was fine. Well about 3:45, I started calling the outpatient desk, (where we were admitted through) to find out what was going on. I was in another waiting area of the hospital and they said they could not find me, but they surgery was over and the doctor would be coming out to talk to us. Well he didn't show up until about 5 p.m, and you can imagine my mind was working overtime.

He said the surgery was really difficult due something that had to do with my husband previous radiation of his right lung. There was a lot of scar tissue, also while just getting in recovery my husbands blood pressure and heart rate dropped extremely low and they had to bring it up with medication. He said the epiisode lasted approx 1 min and he called in the cardiologists. The suspected tumor was NSCL, and the surrounding area looked clean to the eye, however he removed some lymph nodes along with the upper left lobe the final pathology report on them probably won't be ready until Monday. That will determine if he will need chemo later, which is the same statement the oncologist said.