A Normal Day is such a Blessing

Carleen

This is my first time posting in this forum. I guess I was holding out to have the "Big" good news to post such as shrinkage or NED (I'm still planning on that). However, today I just felt that I needed to be thankful for the smaller joys too. Up until now I've been having trouble with that.

This past Monday Keith started a new Chemo protocol of Cisplatin and VP-16. He received treatment Monday Tuesday and Wednesday, and pretty much this whole week has been horrible. He has been so exhausted, nauseous, light-headed, knocked out. Basically up until this weekend, he's slept 18-20 hours a day all week. He could barely get up to go to the kitchen or walk around the house. The weekend got better with small trips to the store and more awake hours, but I've been so worried and depressed seeing my strong hubby so sick.

Currently in Milwaukee, we have a summer festival (called Summerfest) that goes on for 11 days each year. It is the biggest thing in Milwaukee every year and my husband has always looked forward to it, and taken vacation time during this week to go. It's 14 hours of music, food, entertainment with 13 free admission stages with many famous big name bands hundreds of restaurants and stores.

After this past week, we had resolved that we would probably miss it this year. But yesterday, Keith felt a bit better, and two friends joined him in going to Summerfest.

He spent 7 hours walking around listening to good music, eating and drinking beer, talking and laughing with friends.

It was a good day. It was a day where a 31 year old man could go and spend an afternoon with friends like a normal 31 year old man would. Not a LC patient. He came home with a smile and such a good mood.

As I looked at him, for one brief moment I forgot about Cancer.

It was a nice moment.