Health Plan expert?

richinsdakota

Can anyone enlighten me about this ? I had someone whos pretty savvy tell me that in this state, at least, Drs. who are participating plan providers with your health insurance, cannot by law demand payment of charges in excess of health plan allowances. Of course they all overcharge the plan, and bill the patient for remainder of their charges, and we all feel that we have to pay.

But my friend says the patient is not legally bound to pay these "over the plan allowance" charges...and should refuse to pay. Docs and other providers have no choice but to eat this portion of the charges, since they have agreed to be a participating provider for the health plan, and have to accept what the plan pays them, and eat the rest, if we dont pay/? Any one know about the law on this? Or where we could find out? Medical law kinda thing, I g;uess..?

Thanx for anything you know on this subject.....Rich B.

I am not an expert on medical insurance by any stretch of the imagination, but here's how mine works:

I am in a PPO, which means I have participating providers. If I go to a participating provider, that provider, whether it is a hospital, doctor, or any other sort of covered service, has agreed to accept a certain amount of payment for the services they provide.

For example, I may see a doctor and an office visit is $75.00. The insurance company may have negotiated a fee with him to pay $50.00 for an office visit. He only gets $50.00 for that service, BUT I have a 20% copay on some things. So, the insurance is responsible for 80% of that $50.00, which would be $40.00, and I would have to pay the remaining 20%, or $10.00.