This is new for me

Donna D

This is my first time with a message board. I've been at a few reading messages and getting hope for my Mom, but this being her 2nd bout with SCLC in 7 mts., I feel I'm losing hope. It's hard for me to believe that 7 weeks ago, the CAT, And X-rays were clear after her 6 weeks of Radiation. She was following Doc's everything, She played 18 holes of golf, on June 24th, had a check-up and thereit was again, another tumor! A bio was done and it all broke loose!!! She is in sooo much pain...and with all the meds, her mind is gone now too, hearing things, can't walk... eat or anything. She started chemo on the 3rd, and is going today and tomorrow. Can she survive this again...I just don't know. Can I go through it again, I don't know that either. Thanks for listening.

Dona,

I am so sorry you and your mom are going through this for a second time. But I want you to hang in there, and not give up Hope.

There are people on this site who have had reoccurances and have beaten them back into remission.

The fact that your mom is starting chemo, for the first time is also very encouraging. SCLC reacts very well with chemo. There is no rule that limits the number of times the Cancer can be beaten. There are people here that are fighting and winning this battle in every stage.

Also, do not fear because of your mom's mental/physcial state. Know that most of that is due to the medications and not the cancer. The pain will deminish once the chemo starts doing it's job, and the pain meds can then be decreased which will bring back the mom you know and love.