Please tell me about portacaths

Addie

My onc wants to install one after the first cycle of chemo. I guess he figures w/ four chemos a week, every three weeks....not to mention all the other recent punctures...that it's a good idea.

I'd like to get some feedback from those of you who've had them or know about them.

I do have good veins. Most of my chemo before, they put the IVs in my hands. I'm what you call a "plumber's delight" :wink: ....but those veins will only hold up for so long I suppose.

I know the port has to be flushed every six weeks or so whether it's being used or not. But I haven't done any research on it yet...just going to do that and wanted to post here to get the word from those who know!

Anyone?

I have no direct knowledge as I ended up not getting one,, yet. I was in a similar situation a while back and all the feed back I got and all I heard was get one. I have heard talk of infections but that seemed to be unusual. All I have seen is the veins do stop producing as easily as they do in the beginning and it gets to be a hassle and painful when they have to poke and dig, and at one point I almost didn’t get my treatment cause they couldn’t get it. Also my hand s area is starting to be tender from all the holes they poke.

I am at a point where possibly my treatments will slow up so I decided to wait and see, but I have to say I wish I would have listened to all those who said they got a port at the beginning.

There are many folks here that will tell you what there are like. Look at Feb 2 post Port-A-Cath Risks and Maintenance

Bo

Addie,

I had a port installed at the beginning of this journey and it has been a real blessing. It makes getting chemo and giving many tubes of blood at once a real easy process. When you are not activly using it it requires flushing, my onc's office does it monthly. I have terrible veins and the last 16 months would have been much harder on me if I hadn't had the port.