How can I help a caregiver?

Wendy

I am curious to see if others have a similar experience as I am having right now.

I completed surgery/chemo/radiation last fall, and recently had surgery to fix my throat from damage done during surgery. It has almost been a year since I was diagnosed.

During it all, my husband has been a godsend. He was there for me every step of the way. He was a rock emotionally, and really took over everything I did while I was so sick. He even learned how to take over the finances (a big accomplishment since I am an accountant geek!).

My problem is that now that things are finally slowing down and the massive chaos has subsided, he is really starting to struggle emotionally. I almost think of it as a meltdown of sorts. Little things are really big to him - he even got mad because I didn't park the car in the garage straight. I truly think it is after effects from being so strong during everything. I have him convinced to try counseling but I am at such a loss how else to help him. He was so strong for me, yet now I feel like I am letting him down by not knowing how to make it better for him.

Geez this crap sucks! Anyone that's been there have any advise?

Wendy

Wendy,

Call your local ACS (American Cancer Society) and arrange for a counseling session for the both of you, together. It may be the only session you ever need, or it may lead to more. Treat him gently - not like a baby, but gently.

Let a pro work out what he needs, and be there to support him.

Take care,

Becky

Wendy,