Brand New Patient

UncleDoug

During a hospital visit on St. Patrick's Day (March 17, 2005) for a bad back it was discovered that I had a tumor on my left lung which had spread to my right adrenal gland. Today (March 22) I have my first meeting with a pulmonologist. I do not yet know what type of lung cancer I have, or its staging. I am very new to this and am really just now starting my journey. Thank you all for being here! I would appreciate hearing from any veterans who have advice.:?:

I was "lucky enough" to have been diagnosed because I had shoulder and chest pain. If my tumor had not been on the edge of my lung giving me pain I probably would have not know it was there until much later. Perhaps your back pain let you be diagnosed earlier too. Please let us know what your plan will be. I had the works as you see below. In April I will celebrate 7 yrs since I totally finished treatment. Keep us posted and welcome. Donna G

Hang in there, it's a bumpy ride. Right now, you're still in the "I don't really believe it" stage. You will work into the "oh sh*t, now what" panic mode soon. Try to divert the path around that panic mode to the "on with the battle plan" mode if at all possible.

When the bands around your chest start to tighten, remember to breathe. When the world is closing in all around you and you have a hard time seeing any bright side, concentrate on the small things that really are the most important - a big breath in through the nose and let out slowly through the mouth. By about five of the deep cleansing breaths, those bands on your chest will begin to ease and you'll be able to breathe without the squeeze. I'm not talking about bands of pain, I'm talking about bands of stress...

Take it one day at a time. Find the joy in every day, be it the early blooming flowers popping up through the snow, the goofiness of a family pet or the warmth of the sun on your face. Little things mean a lot.

Take care, stop in often.

Becky

Hi Doug,