new to all of this

dawnT

Hi, my brother was diagnosed with nsclc in January and we have had a very bumpy road since then. After having the usualy workup his oncologist basically told him there was really nothing they could do but did suggest they go to Mayo clinic for a second opinion. He went and underwent all the same test again as the quality was poor of the prior tests. They did feel that it was worth trying chem0. (The only place they found mets was in one anterior rib and he did have primary lesions in both lungs). He was home only about 5 days and had not even been back to see the oncologist about starting chemo when he went into congestive heart failure and ended up on the ventilator for 6 days. (the doctors thought he had pneumonia and were treating him aggressively for that instead of for congestive heart failure. I am a nurse practitioner and feel like everyone including my brother turns to me in times of medical crisis. Unfotunately it took some ranting and raving before the docs treated him for the right condition and finally got him off the ventilator. He is now home again and has been back to see the oncologist who told hime that were going to start with Navelbine on tuesday. This is after the oncologists at Mayos recommended a usual 4 drug regimen.

I feel really at a loss here...Even though I am a family practice NP, chemo and lung cancer is way out of my league. All I usually have to do is make referrals for these patients. Now I have one who I adore and I need to learn as much as I possible can. Any help you can give me would be great. Thank you so much

Dawn

Hi Dawn.

First of all welcome to this group. It is good one. It is a whole 'nother world when a loved one becomes ill, isn't it?