Progression and switching to Tarceva

stand4hope

Unfortunately, hubby has progression, especially to the bones. I haven't seen the written report yet, and if we get it tomorrow, I will add to this thread with more info.

We saw the CD before he got the call tonight, and we both knew it was coming. It seems to really want to attack the pelvic bones for some reason where there are several new lesions. He has two other new ones which were circled and measured. One looks like it's in the trachea, which according to the measurements on the cd is about 2 cm, but has a low uptake. The other new one (other than the pelvic area where there are quite a few) looks like it might be in an adrenal gland, but, of course, I can't be sure because the film doesn't define the location, just the size and uptake. One of the new ones in the pelvic area, which wasn't there at all in September, was circled and measured: 60 mm long and about 25 mm thick. I'm not good with the metric system, but I think that is about 2 1/2" by 1". The uptake on that one was 5.13.

The onc said he called the cardiologist about the echo doppler for the pericardial effusion and his recommendation was to hold off with treatment for now.

I'm sorry I haven't been posting, but I am pretty self-absorbed right now with all this, and also some issues with our son. I'm not a happy camper, and just not a very good encourager at the present time. If you have my phone number, as sweetly as I know how, I ask you not to call. I just can't talk about this. Please don't think I'm flat-on-my-back depressed, because I'm not. I just want to deny that any of this is happening and don't want to talk about it. Is that fair?