Radiation Treatments and Amifostine Injections...

Fay A.

Folks,

I have limited experience with radiation treatments. I had 33 treatments to the right bronchial stump and subcarina last year. What I also had were daily Amifostine injections to go along with the daily Radiation treatments.

If you look at an illustration of the lungs and subcarina you'll see that this is the area where the two lungs branch off the trachea. I believe that the reason I do not have severe radiation pneumonitis is because the Amifostine Injections afforded some protection from radiation damage to the normal tissue.

The injections can be rough. They can cause severe headache, nausea, skin reactions and pain at the injection sites.....but if you find a way to handle the negative side effects the end result is that you may very well be rid of the cancerous tissue, and still able to have your lung(s) exchange gases fairly well.

I'm very glad I took the injections. This wasn't something that was offered to me. I had to request it, and then argue for it with both my medical providers and my insurance. But in the long run I think having it has been cost effective for all of us. Especially me! :wink:

Hi Fay,

I was offered the injections. I had two injections and couldn't handle the effects. I had really bad,bad hedaches and nose bleeds. It was awful. My

insurance would pay, but I couldn't handle them. Are

you getting the shots again? I didn't really under-stand the purpose as I was newly dx.

Thanks,

Karen

I agree, Fay. My rad. onc offered up the Amifostine shots when I was due to have my chest radiation. Insurance paid...no problem. As I recall..the shots cost about $800. EACH!!

The rad. onc said not everyone can tolerate them...but I did tolerate them pretty well, except for the last 2-3 shots (of the total of 31) which left huge red reactions on both hips and one side of my tummy...and itched beyond belief for a couple of days. The red marks lasted for 2-3 weeks.