Can someone help me...I'm new here!

InCalifornia

Hi everyone:-)

This is my first time here. My brother was diagnosed with a primary non small cell tumor (inoperable) on his right lung. This tumor was the size of a small lemon and it was pressing on his heart. He received radiation, followed by chemo but due to his immune system being so low the treatment was interrupted. Eventually his doctor stared him on Taxotere, he only received 3 treatments (out of six) and he was hospitalized due to severe pneumonia.

He is finally getting better (the primary tumor has reduced significantly in size) but unfortunately he still has a lot of fluid in his lung *pleural effusion" and the treatmnet once again came to a holt...He still ahs fluid in his right lung and blood count is still low. Now CT SCAN shows 3 new nodules on his left lung, 0.3 cm, 0.7cm and 0.5 cm suspicious of metastatic disease... Unfortunately at this time he can't get any chemo until the fluid is removed and his blood count goes up, they are saying that they will give him a stronger chemo... What are his chances?... We are trying to be optimistic but in the past he had the treatmnet stopped twice and we are afaraid that a stronger chemo will make him even more sick, he was diagnosed August 2004'.

has anyone here has success with treatmnet after having mets to the otehr lung?

PLEASE EMAIL ME and let me know what worked for you.

GOD BLESS YOU ALL...I will be praying for you all!

You have come to the right spot for information and support. My brother too was dx with nsclc recently. It is difficult to see someone you love going through such a hard time. There are many survivors here who will tell you there stories and give advice. Hang in there and my prayers are with you.

Dawn

Hi California: