I am new to this

Shar

Well what a wonderful site this is. I was diagnosed with nsclc in august of 2004. Being only 39 yrs old i never thought it was going to happen, but now i have to fight with all that i have. I wasnt able to have any surgery or radiotherapy and instead had a round of chemo which kept it stable. 3 months later things had progressed so i started taking Tarceva in April of this year. It really has made a significant improvement and i find i am breathing better and feeling a lot better. The rash can be slightly annoying, but that's it. I have had a few stares from strangers while i am out, but i just look the other way. I live in Australia and i have found there is not a lot of support for me here. I have been told that because of my age and condition there arent any support groups i can attend unless i want to join a breast cancer group!! So this site is just what i've been looking for. I would be interested to hear from people who are on Tarceva and how it has worked for them.

Thanks for listening

Welcome, Shar! My wife and I visited Australia in 1989 --Sydney area, Outback and Cairns area. Beautiful place.

Glad Tarceva is working for you. Sorry you can't find a support group. Hope there are other leads to one. Looks like you are doing okay so far. I hope for that to continue. Don

Hi Shar.

Our own Karenl and Jana are also from Australia. If you do a search on them, (in the u/r area of this page) you will find posts from two of the lovliest sisters you would ever want to meet!

Welcome to our site. I am glad that you found us!

Cindi o'h

I can't help with the tarceva, but I do want to welcome you to our group. You know you soon have a one year survival party coming up! Keep us posted. Donna G

Hi, Shar!, welcome.

Brian just started on Tarceva on 6/24. (His rash is a bit unnerving .........rather pronounced and sore looking.) We are pleased to hear of your good response to the med. We are praying for the same.