Alimta and Shingles

TAnn

I've been doing a little (and I mean very little) reasearch about shingles. When I was in the ER with the extreme pain one of the nurses wondered if it could be shingles, although they never actually SAID that I had it. This caught my attention, because I think two of our members who are on Alimta got the shingles also.

I am pretty convinced that all the pain and what has turned in to the most HORRIBLE rash I've ever seen is definately shingles. I'm on a prednisone pack for 5 days to see if it helps, so far the pain is a little more manageable, like from a 10 to a 7. Still can't do anything really at all.

Leave it to me to have the worst experience ever with the easiest chemo ever!!!

Any one else's thoughts on the shingles idea?

TAnn

Oh poor TAnn,

I have no experience with Alimta, BUT I do have experience with shingles :x ! It sounds like it to me. I first had PAIN - no sign of a shingle anywhere. Then after a few days - can't remember exactly how many since it has been quite a while ago - I had a HORRIBLE outbreak. Mine followed the nerve up the side of my face, around my eye, into my scalp. I could not even lay my head down!

Shingles follow a nerve path. Check and see if that sems to be the case - or is the pain and rash random? If it seems to be on a path - definitely shingles.

I am certain the Alimta folks be chiming in with expertise. Maybe they will have more specific info for you.

In the meantime, I wish a FAST recovery from this and the PAIN. You are due a BREAK - bigtime!

Hoping for that break SOON, (((TAnn))),

Kasey

T,

We don't know................we feel so badly to know you are going through this.

We care and we feel so helpless to do anything...but we will pray fervently.

Bri is hurting, right now, too..........He said he understands and to know you are not alone...especially spiritually.

Love

Bri and P

Hi Tann,