I have a mystery infection- first one

jcawork

Hello everybody,

I know I have not posted much.

Well, I got a fever last thursday (12 days post chemo)and started to feel pretty terrible. Went in Fri took blood cultures which are so far reading negative (they read each day for 5 days-2 days are neg).

Levequin started.

Formal CBC at a lab not at the office revealed

"toxic Grans as slight"

Has anyone ever seen this on a CBC? I was told it means bacteria was in my White blood cells and it means bacterial infection.

Also I have no symptoms of anything except fever and fluey feeling. Is this norm?

Have usual pneumonitis cough and wheeze, but thats it. Have no idea how I got an infection.

Jen

Jen,

Sorry you have something new to hassle with! You could use a break, couldn't you?

Anyway, I have no personal experience or knowledge here. I did find info on the net as follows that explains grans is short for granulocytes (or granulation) and that they are always the first-line of defense the body sends out to fight infection. So the presence of a slight number would just confirm you had/have an infection, but doesn't tell anything about the origin of the infection.

Hope it's helpful,

Leslie

Toxic granulation is a stress response to acute infections, burns, and drug poisoning.

White Blood Cells: WBC, Leukocytes White blood cells (WBC) are produced in the bone marrow and stored in various lymphoid tissues such as the thymus, lymph nodes, spleen, tonsils, etc. White blood cells play a major role in defending the body against infections and foreign invaders such as bacteria, fungi, viruses and parasites. There are five types of white blood cells: grans (also known as neutrophils), lymphs, monocytes, eosinophils, basophils.

Polymorphonuclear Granulocytes: Polys, Segs, Neutrophils, Grans