Who's in charge?

Guest vanessa

Guest vanessa

Hi all - I'm hoping someone can give me a little insight as I'm relatively new to this. Since my mom's diagnosis last year, this is the first time she has been hospitalized.

She went to the emergency room with chest pains a few weeks ago, and they sent her home saying it looks like acid reflux and "nocturnal" asthma. Less than a week later, she went to her GP with more acute pain, and they sent her to the Cardiac Care unit at Indianapolis University Hospital.

Meanwhile, her oncologist was never informed. The doctors never contacted him to get an overview of her case. They inserted a catheter in her chest to drain fluid from the pericardial sack and then had to perform surgery to put semi-permenent drains from the sack out of her body. Her oncologist did not know this was going on until I had him paged.

In addition, on the day before we thought she was getting discharged, the cardiology team found that fluid was also building up around her lung, so inserted a chest tube to drain that. Still, the oncologist was not called.

I understand the oncologist does not specialize in these other areas, but can't there be room for error if they are not in direct contact with her main doctor? I feel like I'm being neurotic when I call the oncologist to keep him in the loop -- he keeps saying he will wait to decide the next course of action until she is discharged from the Cardiac unit. Meanwhile, his office is across the street. I just don't understand the chain of command. Any thoughts?

Vanessa.

I can certainly understand your frustration. I am glad that you asked, because I don't get it either!! I can never figure this out. I liked that in oncodoc's practice, he said that once they were dx with cancer that he was then the primary doc and was in charge. I don't know if that is the way in all practices or not. I would also like to know.