My thoughts: surviving cancer

Surveyor

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:41 am on lchelp.com Post subject: My thoughts: surviving cancer under LC SURVIVORS category.

I’ve been fighting NSCLC (first diagnosed as Stage IV) for nearly 2 years. I think I’ve learned many things and would like to post some of the things I’ve encountered that may help others. I honestly think that I would not be here if I not stumbled on this website early in my cancer fight. I spent time going back through all of the archives. Many of the things mentioned below, I either read here or was led by this site to investigate something further on my own. Thank you to all of the website supporters, volunteers and other posters who make this valuable forum possible!

I believe my cancer fight has been blessed. Too many doors have been opened just when I needed them! I’ve felt pretty good and enjoyed life for these last two years. I don’t have the energy to work and play as hard as I would like, but I’m up and around. My wife of 40 years has been my rock to hold onto – this whole experience has been harder on her than me. Our two grown sons have been very loving and around more than usual. I’ve been in a lot of people’s prayers and I know this has helped.