Good medical experiences are a treasure.

cindi o'h

All,

I have felt a need to post this since yesterday. I mean, who else can I tell who would listen and be able to empathize with me. You all have become my kitchen table, coffee drinkin (and whatever else) kind of friends...

I have had some of the best doc experiences and some of the worst. The worst, I just hate to think about. When something good happens, I just feel a need to shout it out!

That is what happened yesterday.

Nov. 5, 2002 came my diagnosis of stage lllb lung cancer. I was hospitalized with what looked like a lung tumor on a chest xray.

I vaguely remember talking with the surgeon who was going to, hopefully, remove my lung. He was sitting straight up in the chair across the foot of my bed. I was resolved to his care. This man that I did not know. This man who spoke with a French accent.

Anyone coming to talk to me at that time, was a painful blur. I wanted them to leave me alone to my safe cocoon that I had put myself into. Yet, I knew that I had to be cooperative and I knew that they were there to help me and that I shouldn't bite them. I didn't. I just whimpered. Inside, I think.

This surgeon told me that he wanted to remove my lung if at all possible. I told him to go ahead.

I awoke from the mediastinoscopy with my lung still intact. I wanted the pain. I wanted the broken ribs. I wanted this lung in the incinerator. It was not to be. I cried.

My sisters said that while I was in the recovery room, that the surgeon had told them what had happened in there and what it meant. They pinned him down. How long does she have? I believe he answered the best he could.

Okay. So. Forward to the present.

I have been having a tough time breathing for so long. It has been taking a huge toll on my overall health and well-being. I have these recurrent effusions and repeat thoracentesis.