Chemo Side Effect

adee

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting, although I've been reading the board since March when I was diagnosed with Stage IIIA NSCLC. Because of breathing problems, I am not a candidate for surgery. I have gone through 7 weeks (5 days/week) of radiation and 7 Taxol/carboplastin treatments that left me with numerous side effects. The worst of these is orthostatic hypotension - that means my blood pressure drops to about 70/50 when I stand up. My oncologist and cardiologist have both said there is no cure and really no effective treatment. I think I would feel pretty good, if I could just get off the couch! Has anyone had this dreadful side effect with chemo?

CAT and PT scans last month showed that the tumor had not spread - but it hadn't shrunk either - damn! :cry:

I'm scheduled for another round of chemo starting next week - Taxotere this time. Wish me luck!

There are so many advances and drugs today that diminish side effects from chemo. At the outset with Toxol and carboplatin Jim was prescribe Zofran which forestalled any nausea. He did not need to take the Ativan. Loss of hair was most dramtic side effect. Other new chemos caused different side effects. They will kekep on top other side effect such as developing fever. Fatigue and drop in red cell count were most dramatic iwth newer chemos the second year.

Good luck!

Welcome to the board, adee. Glad to have you here although I wish it were under different circumstances that we have met. I am so sorry to hear about your problem with your BP. I never heard of that problem before, but as you have read on here, each of us seems to react a little differently.

Nina

adee,

I'm sorry you have had a rough time with the chemo side effects. I haven't heard of the low blood pressure either, I wonder if it will get better in time.