Mom's first treatment

Guest kathleen

Guest kathleen

Hello everyone,

Mom had her first chemo treatment with Taxotere yesterday. So far so good. I have her rinsing her mouth with salt water every couple hours, keeping food in her stomache and pushing fluids. She is doing very well so far. I am at work and Dad stays with her all day. She just called and was eating snickers!!! She is a hoot. Mom takes everything in stride and this if anything will probably help her. I am Feeling more positive, not sure why, I know this message board is helping. I read all of your posts, so far have not left many replies as it is all still so new and I am still learning. You are all an inspiration and make me not feel so alone in dealing with this hiddeous disease.

Can anyone tell me if side effects are more apt to show up a few days after chemo, or will it potentially be worse with each treatment?

Thinking of you all and praying for you and yours.

Kathleen

Hi Kathleen,

Glad to hear your mom is in good spirits!

When my mom was on chemo, it did get a litlte worse at the end, but all in all, it was very tolerable. Typically a few days in she began to feel it more. Tell your mom it is NORMAL and she will feel better very soon.

Kathleen, I don't have any advice regarding your mom's treatments, as we are new to this too...but I think that it is excellent that your mom is keeping such a healthy attitude. I think that positive feelings and thoughts make such a huge difference in life!

I hope that she tolerates her treatments well and can continue eating snickers bars!

I'm glad your mom started treatment.

Our family feels a bit better every thursday when our mom goes in...we feel like we are 'taking action' on those days instead of sitting around and worrying. Thursdays have come to be known as the day we 'beat back the cancer even more!' Thats how we try to see it anyway