Getting to Know You - September 02

Ann

I did not work until I was out of school. No formal education just high school. Women were not encouraged to go to college like the boys were. My parents never even brought up the subject. Actually, none of my crowd went on to college.

I worked at my dads place, which was a clothing cutters manufacturing co. I was a Keypunch operator. :roll: I worked on a machine, kinda like a big computer with a keyboard set up like a calulator and you got this listing with numbers on them(I imagine that was inventory). I fed these cards into the machine and I had to punch the numbers for the listing into the machine. It then went to a verifier who would do the same numbers. If there was a mistake you would get them back and have to do it over.

I was so boring... I even went to work with my dads car pool people, who I thought was so old at the time. They were like in their 40's. :shock:

Needless to say, I was there less than a year.

Maryanne

My first job was a summer job, working as a teachers aide in the Headstart program. At that time, and for most of my college years, I thought I wanted to be a teacher. Wow...having three sons of my own...all close in age, really changed my mind about that!

The military base that I was near (in England) had a pretty neat summer program that allowed kids (I was 14 yrs old) to work on the base. I worked with the military police typing out ID cards and I manned the snack bar; I'm sure I must have helped myself to a few candy bars :oops: I made like $3.75 an hour. It was great because I saved my money all Summer so I could have cash during the school year (I went to a boarding school).

I was 14...still too young for a work permit. I worked at a furniture store where my aunt ended up having a 57 year "career". :shock: