Bone Mets...have questions...

hollyanne

Hello. My mom was recently diagnosed with stage IV NSCL with spots in the left lung mets to lower spine and as of today neck vertebraes. She had 12 sessions of radiation on the lower back which went very well. She was supposed to start chemo today.. yet the MRI of the neck came back (she has severe pain) and now they want to radiate 10 sessions.

I am very new to all of this and pregnant with her first grandchild (so I have pregnancy brain) - my question is, are bone mets always treated with radiation or just when they casue severe pain. She als has pain the hip and knee...they are doing bone scans next week... if these come back as mets, will they consider radiation on three spots at once?

As all of you know... this is such a devastating thing to go through. My mom is 70, in great shape, never smoked and truly my best friend in the world. Sometimes I wonder how I am going to get throuigh the rest of this pregnancy (due in December.) Prayer helps and by the grace of God, I KNOW we will all get through this somehow.

Thank you in advance,

Holly

Radiation can be used to help shrink tumors and also for pain. My husband received radiation for both, and did get shrinkage of tumors from his radiation. However, he thought it didn't help his pain that much. I'm sure all the results from treatment are individual. Whatever is ahead for your mother, she will do great having your support. It is a tough battle, sep you for since your pregnant. But, that is also a reason for your mother to fight this so hard. God bless you both, Nancy C