Another grateful new member--stage IIIb

BarbaraL

Greetings to all the survivors and caregivers here! I just joined yesterday and posted to a specific inquiry I found, but thought I should make a proper introduction.

I've provided most important medical details in my signature below, so I'll get a little more personal in this message.

I'm a 45-year-young self-employed graphic artist. For the first six weeks or so after my DX, with the round robins of tests, doctors, surgeries, tears and phone calls, I was totally drained. Then, my focus was on starting chemo treatment, since I'm considered inoperable. At this point I've had one full (3 treatment) cycle of Taxol/Carboplatin. Aside from days 1-4 of chemo, when I'm spaced out, drained and achy, I'm feeling remarkably well.

My CT scan next week will show the results of all this thus far and, while I remain hopeful, I am also trying to be practical. My husband (of one month--a story for another time) and my close friends know the statistical prognosis (lousy), but my 71-year-old mother and 76-year-old father do not. The prospect of my dying before them (and leaving my husband alone) actually scares me more than anything else. My parents lost my brother many years ago, when he was 18 and I was 23, and having them lose another child brings me to tears.

Hubby and I got married by the mayor last month, and we're having a 100-guest barbecue next weekend to celebrate our marriage. I've been planning and looking forward to this big event for the last six weeks, knowing that all the fun could be bittersweet. There will be some relatives and others attending I fear I may never see again.

I guess the test next week is weighing heavily on me, even though I thought I had developed a "whatever it is, it is" attitude until about a week ago. I saw my onc earlier today, and he's very pleased by my lack of symptoms and tolerance of the chemo.

Any words of wisdom and/or encouragement out there?

Thanks in advance,

Barb