Question about what we may expect next..

hopeandstrength

Hi there,

My dad has had 6 rounds of Carboplatin and Taxol and has had good results. "Significant improvement" is what the onc said. My question is this...he is going for 8 rounds and then another CT scan. Do you think they will give him a break after the 8th round? That seems like a lot of chemo to me, but I'm just not sure. He has done so great with it, but I think he is starting to get really, really tired from it. I would think a person's body would need a break at some point. Is this where maybe something like Tarceva would come into the picture? I realize that I'm asking a lot, I just thought if any of you had a similiar experience it might give me an idea of what we are looking at!

Thanks again! You are all the best!

Cathy

Just my ten cents, and I am NOT a medical professional:

The thing that worries me with "taking a break from chemo" that is apparently working against the cancer is that the cancer that is left behind has already show itself to be somewhat resistant to the drugs. If you continue to zap the cancer with the drugs they may already be weakened and could die off. If you discontinue treatment you may give these already somewhat resistant cells a chance to recover and become fully resistant.

I can only tell you what I would do if my docs had offered me 2 extra cycles of chemo and scans had already proved the cancer to be working. I would go with the extra cycles.

Like I said. Just my opinion on the subject. Yes, chemo is toxic and we do get very tired during treatment. But we get the same way with disease progression, and worse.

And most importantly...the decision to continue treatment is your Dad's to make. Just try to provide him with the most accurate and factual information you can so he can make an informed decision.