Searching For Answers

Skye

Hello Everyone,

I'm new, and not sure what questions to ask at this point, but wanted to introduce myself.

I have looked over the site, so glad I found this place. I am sure when I decide what questions to ask, there will be many great answers.

I am just really very scared right now, and unsure of where my Uncle is on his path, through this horrible journey he is on.

He's a very strong man, but with all he has gone through, has left him so weak, been in the hospital more than out. He can't eat, or drink. I don't know if a g-tube is an option or not.

I do believe in being aggressive with treatments, and being involved as well. Even so, it isn't me who is there with him. I'm just his neice, and can't speak with the docs. If I were there I am not sure if I would know what to do, as I am just learning of lung cancer. And it ain't fun, but I can't stay off the net searching for something that could help him.

I will not give up hope, or prayers. I will hold on to hope till the very end. It is just very hard knowing he is suffering so. My Aunt, and cousins are scared as well, and there is nothing I can do to help them.

So here I am, a smoker myself, on a lung cancer message board. Kind of ironic, isn't it? I'm a little angry with myself about that.

You all are an inspiration, I will add you to my prayers.

Thank you for allowing me to join here.

Many Blessings,

~skye~

Hey Skye ~

Just wanted to extend a welcome. Sounds like it's been a tough battle...he's very lucky to have such a dedicated, and caring niece looking out for him. You've come to a great place for answers - LOTS of caring and experienced folks here with a great deal of information. I, like you, search the I-net incessantly too. Knowledge IS power, and it helps with the general feeling of helplessness.

I will include you, your uncle, and family in my prayers. Hang tough! :wink:

~Dazy