On the aniversary of my Dad's diagnosis

Sheri

I thought it would be appropriate to introduce myself and explain why I have been stalking everyone for a year now. I’m a research fanatic, do social work by trade and I'm very familiar with all of your trials and tribulations and have become quite fond of all of you. I know I'm being redundant but for a lack of anything new, I would like to say you’re all just incredible. I’ve grown to love many and you’ve never known it. I'm sure there are many lurkers out there just like me!

You’ve helped my Dad and I tremendously. This site gave us the first glimmer of hope for him. I’ve prayed, cried and cheered for all of you on the sidelines.

My Dad also reads the site; maybe not daily, he’s not a bulletin board kind of person, so I’m arranging the “coming out party”, by myself. He’ll be watching though, as he’s always been very attentive of my activities during our 40 years together. I’m a single mother of a fourteen year old girl who shares the number one spot with her Papa.

Both of them are all I have and I would lay my life down in a second to save either of them. She’s healthy, he’s in remission. On his one year anniversary, I would just like to thank each and every one of you for sharing so much of yourselves. I hope to share more of his story in the SCLC forum and in the years to come, hope his story inspires other newcomers as your stories have inspired me.

God bless all and please keep on fighting the good fight!

Note to Cindy: I’ve been the shy, good looking, thin, young thing in the corner ordering Bud Ice’s :D. You’re such an efficient bartender! Whatever they’re paying you, I say double it!

Oh Good, Sheri!

You decided to come out of the shadows! At least you have been a good tipper!

I am glad that this site has provided hope for you and for your Dad. Mission accomplished!