My dad has brain mets.

hopeandstrength

I had a feeling. He has been having some seizure like episodes. We took him to the ER on Wednesday night, but he was fine by the time we got there. Waited forever in the room and finally after being ignored for 2 hours told them we were leaving. It was awful. Obviously, they didn't treat his problem as an emergency. The next day my dad had an appointment with his primary care doc who ordered an MRI and admitted him to the hospital. It turns out he has 2 lesions. I haven't found out the size, because I was not there when they got the news. My mom and dad couldn't remember. So, all the scary feelings are here. He started IV Decadron last night and will get Dilantin. He should be on the oral meds today. He has his first radiation session this morning. They are going to try and release him Christmas Eve...I'm hoping they will do it today. I'm not sure why they can't let him go home. Since I'm a nurse, I'm going to try and get them to let him leave. That has worked before.

Anyway...I know I will get the hope I need so badly here. The doc at the hospital was very "frank" as my mother put it and said that the didn't know how much time he had. I don't buy any of the statistic stuff. I've been around here too long not to see people living their lives with the bumps in the road that this journey has.

So, I know this has gotten to be so long, but if you could please offer up some prayers and words of wisdom, I would appreciate it so much. Thanks to all of you. I don't know what I would do if I didn't have you.

Cathy (By the way..my dad looks great!) That to me, says a lot!

(((Cathy))),

I am here with you today....and praying that Dad will be home soon and a plan of action ready to go! I have so many prayers inside me, that PLENTY will be offered for him. I will remain optimistic with you too! May there be peace in your family this holiday and hope in your hearts!

Kasey