Waiting for lung biopsy results......

melissakp4

Hi there,

Sorry this is long...

This is my first time posting to the board. I am 37 years old and about a year ago, my pc doctor did a routine cxr. They found a left upper lung nodule in that cxr (about 15mm x 15 mm). So, a CT was ordered. In the CT, they still saw the lung nodule and said it was 15mm x 15mm, they also found a complex cyst in my left kidney. The lung nodule didn't have any calcification, so they ordered a PET scan to check on that and the kidney as well as an ultrasound for the kidney.

The PET scan supposedly came out negative for malingnacy, with a level of 1.1 - 1.5 on the lung nodule and 1.7 on the kidney. Anyhow, several tests later (including an MRI of the kidney) they wanted me to still see a nephrologist on the kidney, and when I did he was gung ho to do an operation because he said the PET scan doesn't count for much with Renal Cell Carcinoma. Almost three weeks ago (Feb 6th), I had a partial nephrectomy. It turned out that it was cancer (Stage I, grade II), but encapsulated. Now the Dr. and I are more worried about the lung nodule. I have never smoked, but I did some reading and apparently the adenocarcinoma which is the most common non-smoking cancer has a very low metabolic rate (so the PET scan result may line up with this type of lung cancer) until it springs, and then the metabolic rate shoots up.

I went for a lung biopsy two days ago and am scared to death. I coughed up some blood today, which this was the first day I was able to cough without it hurting too much. That freaked me out, but I guess it's normal?