newbie daughter of father with sclc

shellybug68

Just found this board and need some support. I am now taking care of my father in my home. This is all new to us since he was only recently diagnosed. I am still learning all the terms. So far the research on sclc I have done is pretty depressing and just need to know what I am looking at. I know it is different for everyone but I think hearing some other stories of others with this type of cancer will help me understand it. I am a very analytical type person and like to make sense of everything. My father is 60 and was a smoker for over 40 years and also worked as an auto mechanic being around asbestos for many years. He went into the emergency room for kidney stones and found out he has oat cell cancer of both lungs, AAA, and DVT. His Onc here referred us to hospice and it is my understanding that this is for the last six months of life so I am confused because Onc doesnt really give us a prognosis or any sort of time. I guess I am just lost as far as what is ahead and I like to know definate things. His doctor from up north and the hospital stated that his cancer had spreads to a tumor in his left side which is pressing on his lymph nodes and the iliac of his leg which isnt letting the blood clot in his leg go. He just had some more bone scans and CT scans and the Onc said that his cancer is shrinking but what does this mean? My father keeps talking like he is going to be cured and I hate being so pessimistic because usually I am optimistic but from what I have read, I dont think it goes away completely. Am I right?

Well dont want to go crazy on my first post so I just wanted to say hello and get the feel of being here. Take care all, Shelly

Shelly,