Can it Be Cancer? HELP

vicky_b

My First post but i am scared,

I have been smoking 8-10 cigarettes a day for the past 3 years and i am 21 yrs old...

I cough out blood streaked sputum once a day for the past 15 days... Its just a streak of blood that too not everyday...

i cant tell my parents and i cant afford a doctor myself...

Everything else is fine with me... and i dont smoke any more...

Is it possible to get lung cancer at my age with a smoking history of 3 yrs??

Plz help

I cant concentrate on anything

You really should see a dr. The blood could just be from throat irritation, or it could be something else. Smoking is NOT the only cause of lung cancer! So even though your smoking history probably wouldn't cause cancer at this point, there are no guarantees.

Try not to panic, but see a dr. somehow. And congrats on quitting the smoking - best for your long-term health in any case.

Your parent have your best interests at heart and will survive your telling them.

There are a few people your age that have gotten lung cancer who never smoked. Your decision to quit is a wise decision.

Most likely however it is an irritation, this is winter the time of coughs, colds and flu, dry air because the heat is on in our homes. Have you been sick? Don't panic , just check it out if it continues.

Donna G

Thanks a lot for ur help :D

I have my exams next month and cant concentrate... I have got a chest X Ray done and the report says OK..a few last queries

1.Should i go for a CT Scan?

2.Or should i wait and see if the symptoms improve?

3.If its an internal wound then how much time does it take to heel?

Thanx in advance

Hi Vickey: I am a little puzzled. If you had an xray, you must have seen a doctor, right? Did he address the blood in your sputum? If you are still coughing up blood after 2 weeks and have already seen the doctor, you should tell him that you are still coughing up blood. When did you see the doctor and get your xray?

Don M