Just watched a special on Warren Zevon (Mesothelioma)

Gina D.

I don't know how many of you folks in here are "music" people. I am. I work in the industry and it is the biggest motivator and joy of my life. Hard to explain. Music folks know of what I speak tho.

Zevon was DXed with mesothelioma in Aug. of 2002 and given 3 mos. to live. He made liars out of them and is still here, tho getting sicker every day.

He opted to forgo treatment so he could focus all his energy on putting out one last album. He is finished with the recording and will now do treatments.

All this time, he has kept his humour, (his biggest trademark) and drive to create. I hope if I am given his news, that I can have 1/2 the humour he has kept, and procede with music as my # 1 priority.

This is a true proffesional. Any other artists/music folks in here? How does your DX effect your outlet?

Hey, my Dave is a musician - for 13 years he was a full time professional trumpet player until the binds of matrimony killed his career (ha, that's what his friends all like to think, anyway). Musicians in this part of the world just don't make any money.

In the last year or two Dave's playing has been mostly in our church, which he loves, as it's mostly classical in nature and he loves playing and listening to classical music, not to mention the actual praise that is involved. He was supposed to play in our Easter Cantata when he was diagnosed. I think hearing the radiologist tell him he could not play the trumpet until he was well was more devastating than the diagnoses itself. He is determined to get well, get healed, and blow that trumpet some more. I will say that he is a damn good musician and the will to play has given him alot of fight (along with the will to live and be a parent, another life long dream of us both!).