Very Scared

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this. My mother was diagnosed in late February with Stage IV LC. I am very scared and I need to know what to expect. She has declined treatments such as radiation and chemo. I have seen a large decline in her overall health in the last two weeks. She is constantly coughing up blood and is losing weight. I need to know what to expect. The doctor gave her less than 6 months with treatment. That is such a scary determination and I don't want to believe it but I can already see her decline in a massive way. Please help! I need advice.

Shanna so sorry you have to deal with this.

My MIL was diagnosed last spring and refused all but one treatment of radiation. This controlled the bleeding and made it easier for her to breathe etc.

It is really hard to accept when a parent refuses treatment. Our instinct screams out to us to fight with everything we've got. The best way to deal with it is to try and accept her decision as quickly as you can and then support her with all your strength.

It helps is you are able to discuss her issues openly with each other. Don't set timelines it depends on so many different factors. The progression of the deseaase depends on many things such as which lung is affected, her general health, treatment , etc.

she may feel weakness in her right arm ,pain in the bones of her back, nausea, weightloss, it all depends on the individual. I asked the same questions you have and have found a great deal of information from reading others posts.

The big thing is for you to realize that you are not alone. Others may be able to give more insight if you can give some details as to the placement of her cancer and any test results etc.

Big hugs and prayers for you

Jen

Tip :

recently I have been making instant pudding made with half and half cream rather than milk and I add in carnation instant breakfast. mom is able to eat about 1200 calories a day , extra this way.