Dad just diagnosed with lung cancer

This is my first time to post. I searched the web to find some support because I found out last week that my dad has stage IIIa lung cancer which has spread to his lymph nodes. He started radiation treatments this week. He will have radiation treatments five times a week with chemo once a week. I am really sad and concerned because the information I have been reading does not sound promising. He has been a smoker since he was young but did give it up when he was diagnosed. His cancer was found by accident when he went in with back pain and the nurses sent him for a chest x-ray instead of an x-ray on his back. They found a 3 cm mass on his upper right lung. Too close to the heart to try to remove. Just hoping for some support. Thanks.

Thank you so much for that encouragement. No one really understands what I am going through because all of my friends and my husband have not had to deal with any serious illnesses with their parents (thankfully).

The goal with my dad's treatment right now is to shrink the tumor and stop it from spreading. If they shrink it there is a chance they can go in and remove it.

I am just so sad because he is very scared right now.

Welcome Christy,

I understand exactly how scared you are. I also understand the sadness and devastation. I remember so well the first few months after diagnosis when my world was spinning out of control and I felt so helpless and I didn't know what to do. But the hardest part of all of it then, and now, is seeing someone I love more than anything being scared and hurt and suffering. I would rather take it all onto myself than see my loved one bearing that burden.

Please try and take it one day at a time. Don't look at statistics because they are false. They are based on old data from before current treatments and protocols have made big increases in survivability.