Hi Everyone!

s_meksvanh

Hi - I am new to this message board. I am a long term lung cancer survivor. Non Small Cell, bronchoalveolar cell adenocarcinoma, stage 1b, T2N0M0. In August 1997, at age 38 , I was diagnosed with 5cm mucinous cavitary lesion in the right lower lobe. Underwent lobectomy. In August 2001, at age 42 , I was diagnosed with recurrent disease, metachronous BAC - 5cm spiculated lesion in the left upper lobe. Underwent lobectomy. Post surgical recovery spiraled out of control and into Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS) . Spent 38 days in ICU - 21 days in a drug induced coma and paralysis. Hundreds of doses of morphine, and other drugs, and several blood transfusions later, I walked out of the ICU to the applause of the staff. Spent months in physical therapy learning how to breathe, talk, walk, eat, and write again. As fate would have it, I was diagnosed in August 2003 with 1cm x 2cm spiculated lesion in the right middle lobe. Entered watchful waiting period until repeat CT and PET scans in November. If positive for tumor, will undergo wedge resection - primarily because of poor pulmonary performance as result of prior lobectomies. I am thankful to be alive but I am no longer acknowledging and/or celebrating the month of August. I have earned that privilege and it is my prerogative. LOL. :D

Wow! I just read your story. If you are now only 46 your 5 kids are still young! They need you so you had better lick this. I was diagnosed that year - 97' also but it was December just before Christmas. So you have me beat . I believe BAC does not respond to most Chemos but if it were back I wonder if they could do RFA? Waiting for the repeat Scan is the pitts!! Welcome to our family we have others with even little ones here. We all try to help and inform each other. Again , welcome and I pray you find the support you need with us. Donna G

Welcome - I live just up the road in Urbana, MD

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

June 9, 2003