chemo anxiety

Hello,

I'm a newbie and I know I need to post an intro on other board and I will soon but I have a question in the mean time.

Do any other caregivers have trouble with anxiety at chemo time? I really do. My husbands 4th treatment is on Monday and I am already starting to feel it today. I seem to go through this every time. I love him so much and I just can't seem to prepare myself enough for seeing him suffer through the treatments. I feel so helpless. (Stupid cancer!!! :evil: )

Thanks in advance,

Debbie,

You have come to an amazing place to get information. Welcome to the board. I know what you are saying about the anxiety. I posted about that with my Dad as well. I have been told by many that it might be a time to start looking at anxiety meds. I have yet to have my mom or dad do that, but it doesn't seem like a bad idea. Do the treatments hurt your husband? So far my dad has had little pain, is on good meds for getting sick, and hasn't had really much for side affects aside from fatigue. Be sure to talk to your doc if your husband feels pain or illness.

In the mean time, welcome to the board and know that my prayers along with many others will be going up.

Hi, Debbie, and welcome. No, I can't say that I get anxious about Lucie's chemo. I do get anxious when she has scans and we are waiting for the results. Lucie has enough anxiety about the chemo for both of us. I busy myself with being sure everything goes as smoothly as possible for her. Don

I did had/have anxiety with everything Alan goes through. It is now

just with his scans as treatment has stopped for him

but the anxiety is an unfortunate part of the process

I will admit we have found a new "normal" and have

learned to live and appreciate every single day, so

the anxiety is now limited to test time and the waiting for the results.

Hang in there and lean on us when needed.

Welcome Debbie,