Hope is the key to better life and survival

lilyjohn

Hello

I am new to this message board. I belong to several others and I have a message to get out to people. I have found that Hope can do wonders and taking away hope can often kill. The man I was living with and going to marry was diagnosed with NSCLC in July 2002. His prognosis was one to two years depending on how he responded to treatment. He had chemo and after the first 6 treatments the nodules had shruk 50% and he had gained back all of the weight that he had lost plus more. At total of 30 pounds. He had the best attitude and was determined to fight the disease and was doing a very good job untila chemo nurse and his doctors started telling him that no matter how good he was doing there was no HOPE. That led to anxiety that they refused to address and then to panic attacks witch again his doctor chose to ignor. To try to help himself he turned to the Vicodin that he had had earlier. It made the anxiety worse but instead of warning him of that the doctors and nurses had the same answer each time I questioned his use of it."He has lung cancer what difference does it make if he becomes addicted?" that attitude and the uncontrolled anxiety that was never treated until it had gotten out of hand and the addiction to the Vicodin he developed sent him to the hospital seeking help. The help he got was to give him medication that he was alergic to and blame the bad blood gases on the cancer. They continued to give him more medication and then never monitored or took his vital signs for several hours. When I questioned I was told that he was just tired and that they did not want to disturb him. As a result on December 2, 2002 only five months after beging diagnosed he died. It was not the cancer that killed him. It was attitude and taking hope away from him. Is there anyone else who has had and experience similar to this one? Sense his death I have set out to try to make changes in the system that allows these thin