Need advice on other chemo options

Guest Piermarie

Guest Piermarie

This is my first time to post a message but have been reading thru all of your stories and feel like I can relate to so many of them.

My mother who is a 59 yr. old non-smoker and was a member of an outdoor club (kayaking, camping, hiking,etc.) was diagnosed in March '03 with stage IV NSCLC. What a total shock!!!! I took her to second opinions with Oncologists and Surgeons but was told the same thing, palliative care with chemo was the most they could offer since there was already spread to the liver.

She has undergone chemo with 3 different drugs (the third one is Gemzar which we'll find out if this one has worked with a scan on 9/16). The cancer has continued to grow despite the chemo and after doing a head CT in June (no symptoms), they found 4 lesions which were treated with whole brain rad. and radiosurgery. We just found out this week that the head CT looks good.

She is currently taking 2 tylenol 3's per day, an occasional atevan for nausea and senecot (for constipation from the tylenol). She has been eating less in the last couple of weeks with this last round of chemo (instead of every 21 days like the others, this one is 2 Fridays on, one off, and 2 Fridays on). She just had her last chemo today and we'll get a scan next week. She will doze off and on but will try to get out of the house and go on a short walk if she's feeling ok.