New here, but not to lung cancer!

macdog

My name is Sue and I was dx with nscl lung cancer in June of 04. Top lobe of left lung was removed and one lymph node, thought they had it all. Did 4 rounds of taxol/carboplatin chemo which I continued to work throughout (I am a teacher). The next visit and scan after the chemo had the cancer exploding in both lungs, we were devastated. Tarceva was the only choice for me and I was on it for 17 months with all the tumors gone until the last scan in July 06 when the cancer had finally mutated and was coming back. Biopsy confirmed the scan. I was to start chemo again 2 days ago (alimta) but the oncologist is trying to get me into a Phase I trial at Mayo which is a combination of new pills, one similar to Tarceva and the second is supposed to work against the vascular system of the tumors. I need to be off the Tarceva for 4 weeks before I can begin the new trial. I'm apprehensive as the trial is a Phase I but my husband and oncologist are both in favor of it. The oncologist says I can always come back and do the alimta chemo and they were just approved to add avastin to the chemo treatment. Anyone out there who has had Tarceva quit working? What did you do next? I am a non smoking white female 57 years old and had good results with the Tarceva. Still feeling side effects now, rash etc, wonder if the new stuff will be similar. Physically I feel fine, emotionally I'm a wreck, having trouble holding it all together. Would appreciate any input.

Tarceva was successful for my husband for a long time. When it stopped working he did the Alimta-- and then on to Alimta with Avastin together and now he is on Avastin alone. His cancer is stabilized again with the Avastin. I hope all goes well for you. Welcome to the site.

Rochelle

Hi Sue!