It would have been a year.

KatieB

It would have been a year ago today that my dad was diagnosed with lung cancer. I told him I would bake him a cake and we would all celebrate.....instead Dad is not here, I feel so alone, and it is the one week anniversary since his death.

I could be completely engulfed in anger and sadness today...but only alittle...because I know that dad's prognosis was 4 months...and he lived 11 months, 21 days. I am so greatful for the time we had, for the opportunity to do all I could do for him and love him more than I ever thought I could love, and for all of you who have emotionally walked by my side every step of the way.

I'm still learning how to grieve...it hasn't hit me yet really I don't think, I just miss him so much, but I am working very hard at "looking" like I am ok.

Go out and celebrate LIFE today with all those who love you!

Katie,

As you have always been there for us in our sad and trying times, please remember that we are here for you. It's true, live life and celebrate what was good in all of it. It will be a rough go, I will not lie to you. One day will seem okay, the next you don't even want to get out of bed. Thank God for my sons, they help me to go each day, for they lost a wonderful Grandmother that was with them always. Hang in there, take it one day at a time, and give yourself time to cry and grieve and be angry. We are here for you.

God Bless you and your family.

Dona

Katie,

Like others, I read books, magazine and newspaper articles, do Internet searches, but always come back to this list. The needed inspiration is in the posts of the real people dealing with this disease. And you have been a source of reference on how to tackle this. You have been uplifting, honest and genuine. As you go through this difficult time and times to come, I pray that you be given the strength and love to come back into the sunshine, with that engaging smile and the obvious love that you exude.