Dad has small cell lung cancer

kjp54568

Hi I'm new to this but need to know if anyone has suggestions. My father has emphazema in his left lung and was diagnosed with small cell cancer in his right lung in April 2006. He also has a spot in his liver and limphnods. He has been undergoing chemo which has slowed it down but has not shrunk the cancer. He is now having alot of problems breathing and they said due to health can no longer due chemo. He will be starting radiation next week. The Dr has told him that it will not cure him but will give him more time with us and that without it he would only be with us for a month or so. He is so tired when I visit it's so hard to see him going down hill. I live away from him and run my own business so it is hard to get to see him so I do alot of calling and telling him about my daughter and such. The problem now is that radiation will be 5 times a week. My mom is trying to find out how to financially take a leave from work but can not make ends meat. I am not able to help out financially unfortunatly and am trying to figure out how to help. Mom is asking to go to second shift at work so that she can be with dad as much as possible. She is so worn out it just breaks my heart. Is there any options out there that we can get the financial help so that mom can spend time with dad before he leaves us. Please can any one give me advice on where to turn to. I want to help mom so bad.