Is chalk dust OK?

blaze100

Hi, I am 6 years out and still teaching math full time at the local community college.

I use chalk board extensively(math)and at the end of the day my hands, face, hair and clothes have light coating of chalk dust - probably my lungs too. Most of this is from chalk dust falling over my head when I erase the board.

I could switch to white boards, but have not been able to find much safety info on chalk vs dry marker fumes.

I've used white boards several years ago, and my face, hands and clothes were covered with ink particles when I got home. Plus the fumes burned my throat.

My doctors shrug when I ask them...so, does anyone here have any thoughts on safety of chalk dust verses dry marker fumes?

Barb

Barb:

Let me say that I am not an expert on this by any means.....I spent some time doing a google search on your question here and you can only imagine how long it can take to exhaust everything such a search reveals to really help you.....

That said, chalk dust appears to be a not-so-great alternative for you -- apparently chalk dust can have metal components in it that aren't great for LC concerns; I could find no obvious concerns about white board markers/their fumes to LC.

All I did was look a bunch at the results I got from a google search on "safety of chalk dust for lung cancer patients" and "safety of white board marker fumes to lung cancer patients" to get this sense of what I am saying here to you.

I hope this helps -- as Treebywater said, an overhead projector might be a good option too but won't help if you do things like getting multiple kids working math problems on the board at times during class.

Linda

Blaze100,