Xray NOT a good test for CANCER....

peacelover

Hi All-

I just had to share this..I went to the doctor for a physical last week. I started training for a marathon and am turning 40 next year and wanted to havea baseline as to how much my health improves with this training.

Anyway, I told my doc my moms history and that my paternal grandma had LC and that I wanted a chest Xray....

he said...'you have a cough'

I said no, 'i do not have a cough'

he says again...'melissa you have a cough'

I say nope no cough just want an xray cause my mom never had a cough either and still has LC

Doc proceeds to tell me that without a cough or some symptom my insurance will not pay for an xray at a routine physical....

WHAT!!!! They take money from me twice a month and I cannot get a 75$ Xray that could save my life!!!!I tell him that is crazy and he tells me that there is no clinical evidence that yearly xrays help in survival or detection of lung cancer..WHAATTT!!!!

I was amazed and enraged! what exactly is good for detection anyway!!!!

I fained a cough and got my xray!!!

blessings!

Melissa

Melissa,

I had an x-ray less than a year before an x-ray found a cloud - there was nothing on it. I had an x-ray when the cancer may not have spread to the lymph nodes - there was nothing on it. An x-ray is NOT a way to find early lung cancer. You should have feigned something more and gotten a CT scan.

One thing to remember, though, is that radiation to the chest (x-ray, CT, etc.) can cause cancer. Don't be so scared that you cause it to grow just by trying to rule it out...

Melissa,

A CT scan is the best to get and some places have newer equipment that is better than the older. One is called a spiro CAT scan. My daughter had a scan because of family history, myself and my dad. Had no problem with the insurance. Sounds like your doc could be a little more cooperative.

Stay positive,

Ernie