The Blame Game

bware21

Okay, this post could be long but I won't apologize this time. It was prompted by a response from Jamie at JYOUNG20 to my "two stories" post, who simply wrote: "Bill, you are awesome."

As much as I appreciated the sentiment behind the comment, it made me more than a little uncomfortable and triggered a thought process that led -- in a roundabout way -- to the meat of this post. And here it is:

A few times, though not as often as I would have expected, I've read posts that mention smoking. At the risk of alienating some, angering others, and exposing myself as the flawed character that I am, here's my deal:

I've been a smoker for 41 years. Now I have lung cancer. And what does that mean? I brought it on myself and it's my own fault? Sure, that's a valid statement and one that I have no reasonable argument with. But like most things in life there's a flip side that is often missed, ignored or just plain denied.

I'm a writer. I've spent thousands of hours sitting in front of manual typewriters, word processors, and now damn computers. Even though I haven't smoked in the house for over 10 years, I used to spend most of my time in a smoke-filled room in the wee hours of the morning with an endless supply of cigarettes and coffee. And let me tell you, they were some of the best times of my life -- and the most productive. I was in my own little paradise, making stuff up and experiencing places and things that didn't exist except in my head. The coffee and cigarettes were the fuel that kept the midnight oil burning. So, now I have cancer and I regret all that -- right? Wrong. There's not a thing I would change. Nothing. It's what made me who I am, and why on earth would I want to be anyone other than me?