Does anyone know???

Bev'sSister

I'm no expert, but my understanding is that with extensive SCLC there's no point in giving radiation treatment up front. The best course of action is to go through the chemotherapy and try to knock it out from wherever it is ... and then consult with the radiologist to determine what radiation is most suitable.

I think you'll find that the chemotherapy will do a great job of knocking out SCLC. And when your sister has completed her chemotherapy you should certainly consult with a radiologist, regardless of what the oncologist says.

That's about as much as I know. If I'm wrong somebody will correct me.

Good luck,

Bill

Thank you, Bill. She is starting her last chemo today. She has actually had about 8 Radiation treatments to date. Her doctor wants to give her 19 treatments and then do another CT Scan. Her last PET showed the cancer had completly disappeared. I was just wondering, if it is "a good thing". I just really need to hear some good news about this cancer CRAP! I hate it.

You know, this is an interesting post. Bill's response seems to make sense. I guess I would have looked at it differently, and I don't really know, but this is just a guess...

When my dad was diagnosed, we were told that the tumor (he did not have mets) was too large for radiation, and once it got small enough to be effective, they would begin radiation. After two rounds of chemo, we were told it was now small enough, and dad began radiation.

This said, I wonder if the initial tumor is just that small that it can be "hit" with radiation to have a positive effect?

My dad did end up having radiation, and then chose PCI brain radiation as well, to shorten the possibilities of having brain mets in the future.

We continue praying every day that this da*n disease stays at bay.

God bless and good luck!

Jen