My first time here help for my 81 year old mom

frenchy

Hello, I am new to this so be patient with me.

My mother was diagnosed with stage III NSCLC within the last 3 weeks. She is 81 years old we have done the ct scan,the biopsy and the pet scan.It is only in the upper left lung approx. 3cm.x4cm.She only has 55% lung capacity so operating was nulled.The oncologist suggested radiation for 6 weeks.After speaking with him he suggested chemo once a week during radiation.We met with the chemo dr. today and said it would be a lite dose that she would not lose any hair.My mother lives alone within 15 minutes of me i am the only child and i lost my father in sept of 05 to leukimia he was 77.I really do not know what to do or what to expect from all of this.I am really concerned about my mothers health when this all starts as of now she has no symptoms and she gets along well on her own.Is all this worth putting her thru this? please help with anything you can comment on. Thanks mike

Hello Mike & Welcome. Sorry you had to find us but there are some wonderful caring people here who can answer questions and offer support. My husband had 6 weeks of radiation and also weekly induction chemo during that time. He tolerated it all pretty well until about the 4th or 5th week and then the radiation started to tire him and he had some swallowing problems that I believe are pretty normal. The chemo was a light dose & he tolerated it very well with no nausea or hair loss. The only advice I can offer is to work closely with your mother's radiologist & oncologist and always get their input as to what they feel is the best course for Mom.

Hi Mike,